The Toronto Argonauts Football Club would like to congratulate the nine (9) Argos players who were named to the 2007 East Division All-Star team today.
The Division All-Stars were selected by 56 voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC), the eight CFL head coaches and CFL fans from across the country. For the first time ever CFL fans voted for their divisional all-stars online, and starting today fans can click HERE to vote for their 2007 CFL All-Star team.
2007 Toronto Argonauts East Division All-Stars:
Defensive Tackle                       Adriano Belli
Defensive End                           Jonathan Brown
Linebacker                                Kevin Eiben
Defensive Back                         Kenny Wheaton
Cornerback                               Byron Parker
Cornerback                               Jordan Younger
Safety                                      Orlondo Steinauer
Offensive Guard                         Taylor Robertson
Special Teams Player                Dominique Dorsey
The ‘Kissing Bandit’ has played a crucial role on an Argos’ dominant defence. DT Adriano Belli has plugged the running lanes and is freeing up his fellow linemen to put tremendous pressure on the quarterback. Since Belli joined the Argos’ front-three, Toronto’s defence has allowed 33.5 fewer yards rushing per game (570 rushing yards overall), as compared to the 2006 season, and allowed only nine touchdowns on the ground, six fewer than last season. This is the second time in his career that Belli has been named to the East Division All-Star squad.
The East Division Outstanding Defensive Player, and club MOP, is two sacks from matching his career high of the 13 set in 2005, and he could become the first Argo to record 15 sacks in a season since Elfrid Payton in 2001. DE Jonathan Brown is tied for third in the CFL with 11 sacks and is first on the team. Brown carries his fire and passion to win from the field to the locker room where he is a team leader and an inspiration. This is the third consecutive season that Brown has been named a division all-star.
For the fourth season in a row, LB Kevin Eiben has been named an East Division All-Star. The Argos’ leading tackler (92) has been one of the best linebackers in the East and possibly the league through seventeen games. Eiben leads all Canadian defensive players in tackles and already has six sacks. He is now the team’s fourth leading tackler all-time with 439 tackles and he could surpass 100 defensive tackles for the third time in four seasons this week in Regina.
The hardest hitting defensive back in the CFL, Kenny Wheaton is fourth on the team and ninth in the league in defensive tackles. Wheaton can also play a finesse game as he has picked off three passes this season and raced one 84 yards for a touchdown, the first regular season score of his career. An all-around player, the fifth-year Argo has 2 tackles for a loss and 2 quarterback sacks in 2007. This is the third straight season Wheaton has been named a division all-star.
This season, CB Byron Parker became the fastest player (24 games) in team history to record 5 career interception return touchdowns - then he scored a sixth major and set a new team record in his 30th CFL game. The 26-year old corner has evolved into the most exciting defensive player in the CFL and is currently tied for second on the team in touchdowns (4). He is also the only player in the league to score majors in all three phases of the game this season: 2 on interceptions, 1 receiving, and 1 on a blocked punt return. This is the second straight season Parker has been named a division all-star.
The Argonauts’ best player in man coverage, CB Jordan Younger always seems to be in the right place at the right time. His speed is blinding and his understanding of Coach Stubler’s defence makes him a threat to offences around the league. Younger doesn’t put up big numbers but he has made countless big plays as is evident by his 9 pass knockdowns (second on the team), and plays a crucial role on special teams where he blocked a punt against Edmonton that directly resulted in a touchdown this season. This is the third consecutive season that Younger has been named an East All-Star.
Safety Orlondo Steinauer is a perennial all-star who may be the best and most consistent safety in the CFL over the past five seasons. Steinauer leads all East Division players, second in the CFL, with 7 interceptions for 143 yards this season. This season he moved into third all-time in Argos’ history for interception return yards (660) and needs 79-yards to move into second all-time ahead of Adrion ‘Pee Wee’ Smith (750). This is the sixth time, second straight season, in his career that ‘Stein’, a defensive captain, has been recognized as a division all-star.
The Argos’ Outstanding Lineman, OG Taylor Robertson has been a welcome addition to the o-line. Taylor has been solid, opening large holes for the running back and providing good up front coverage for Michael Bishop. He has dressed and started every game this season and this marks the first time Robertson has been named to an all-star team.
For the first time in his career, RB/KR Dominique Dorsey has earned a spot on the East Division All-Star team. Hearrived in Toronto in late July and paid immediate dividends, returning a missed field goal 129-yards for a touchdown to tie the CFL record.  In CFL Week 13 against Winnipeg, he scored the first kickoff return touchdown of the 2007 season (97-yards) which tied for the second longest kickoff return in team history. Finally, in Week 15, he returned a punt 69 yards for a score. Dorsey is now first in the CFL in kickoff return average with a staggering 25.2 yds/return, and first in punt return average, among players with at least 20 returns, at 11.1 yds/return. He is also the only player this season with at least three kick return touchdowns.