Mayor David Miller will proclaim October 18 as Persons Day in Toronto.

Toronto - “The annual commemoration of Persons Day gives us an opportunity to reflect on the progress made for women’s equality, to re-affirm our commitment towards the equality of treatment for women and to celebrate the contributions made by recipients of the Constance E. Hamilton Award,” said Mayor Miller.

Three Toronto women have been selected as the 2007 recipients of the Constance E. Hamilton Awards for their efforts in improving equitable treatment for women. The recipients, selected by the women members of City Council, are:

- June Larkin - for leadership in equity and women’s studies
- Helen Liu - for advocacy on behalf of marginalized workers
- Beverley Wybrow - for leadership and advocacy within the volunteer sector.

“I am proud to be part of the selection committee that has been given the opportunity to honour these three women,” said Councillor Pam McConnell. “These outstanding individuals remind us of the gains made by women in this city and serve to encourage the work that still must be done by the simple fact that they are in our midst.”

The Constance E. Hamilton Award was established in 1979 by Toronto City Council to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the “Persons Case.” On October 18, 1929, the Privy Council of the United Kingdom overturned a decision by the Supreme Court of Canada, which decided that women were not “persons” and could not be appointed to the Senate. The Award is named after the first woman elected to a municipal council in Toronto. The Constance E. Hamilton Award will be presented on December 10 as part of the City’s annual Human Rights Program.

Toronto is Canada’s largest city and sixth largest government, and home to a diverse population of about 2.6 million people. It is the economic engine of Canada and one of the greenest and most creative cities in North America. In the past three years, Toronto has won more than 70 awards for quality, innovation and efficiency in delivering public services. Toronto’s government is dedicated to prosperity, opportunity and liveability for all its residents.